Lost data after updating Proxyman app?
Lost your Proxyman rules or settings after an update? Restore Map Local, Scripting, Breakpoint and other data from Proxyman's automatic backup folder.
Problem
After updating the app to the latest version, you might see that:
- Your data, including all debugging tool rules (Map Local, Scripting, Breakpoint, SSL Proxying List, ...) and user settings, is wiped out.
Proxyman makes sure your data is never lost. Still, it's good to have a backup of your valuable data ⚡️.
How to recover
- Open the backup folder at
~/Library/Application Support/com.proxyman.NSProxy/user-data-backups - Unzip the latest backup file. (In Finder, sort by "Date Added" to find the latest backup.)
- Copy each folder from the backup to the app folder at
~/Library/Application Support/com.proxyman.NSProxy
For instance:
| Copy From | Copy To |
|---|---|
| ~/Library/Application Support/com.proxyman.NSProxy/user-data-backups/userdata_proxyman_3.6.0_05-24-2022-11-55-20/user-data | ~/Library/Application Support/com.proxyman.NSProxy/user-data |
| ~/Library/Application Support/com.proxyman.NSProxy/user-data-backups/userdata_proxyman_3.6.0_05-24-2022-11-55-20/map-local | ~/Library/Application Support/com.proxyman.NSProxy/map-local |
| and more... |
A backup contains the user-data, map-local, scripts and users folders.
If you use Proxyman from Setapp, the app folder is ~/Library/Application Support/com.proxyman.NSProxy-setapp.
When does Proxyman back up my data?
After you update Proxyman to a newer version, Proxyman backs up your current data and saves it to ~/Library/Application Support/com.proxyman.NSProxy/user-data-backups.
To make your own backup at any time, use Tools -> Import / Export Settings -> Export (Backup)…. See Import / Export Settings.